Skip to content

Family History Through The Alphabet: Letter L

September 9, 2012

The lovely folk at   Gould Genealogy  have  issued a challenge to genealogists and family historians. Their idea is The ‘Family History Through the Alphabet’ Challenge   We will work our way through the alphabet, using one letter each week  and discuss anything relating to our family history starting with that letter.

The Letter L: L is for Lost Ancestor. Regular readers of my blog are probably sick of my constant referral to my Lost Ancestor, my Great Great Great Grandfather JOHN TAYLOR.  He is my mystery man. So far, I haven’t been able to find any reference to his birth. I do know that he lived in the Uzmaston, Pembrokeshire area of  Wales in 1814, at the time of  the birth of his son John. He was married to MARY DAVIES on 254 June 1805 in Slebech, Pembrokeshire, Wales.

Even though I haven’t been able to find reference to his death, I am fairly sure that he died before 1841.  His wife Mary died in 1841 in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales and is described as a widow on her death certificate.

Top of my “genealogy travel list” is a trip to Wales in the hope that the information I need to fill in the gaps is there waiting for me.

4 Comments
  1. Oh, Jennifer… I so much relate to your “Lost Ancestor” post. Happy am I to have recently found my dad’s Canadian relatives, my paternal grandmother’s relatives, etc… but still can find no record of my own Grandfather, Frederick Alexander Allan, whom I grew up with and believed was born in London in the late 19C… ? Good luck with your search. We can never give up :-)

    • It certainly can be frustrating being a family historian. Good luck, I hope you find your grandfather. That would be very frustrating to have him missing.

  2. I think every genie can relate to the ‘Lost Ancestor’. There seems to be at least one in every family. But as Catherine says, never give up.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Family History Through the Alphabet - L is for ... | Genealogy & History News

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers